Differences between top-level, second level and third level domains Differences between top-level, second level and third level domains

A top-level domain (aka extension or TLD) is a domain that can be used to identify a specific territory or a generic kind of activity. In the first case, we will talk about ccTLD (country code top-level domain) such as .IT, or .FR or .ES identifying specific geographic areas such as Italy, France and Spain. In the second case, we will talk about gTLD (generic top-level domain), usually used by organizations to identify their activities (for example, .com extensions are often used by sales organizations). Otherwise other top-level domains such as .GOV, .MIL and .EDU are reserved to the government, army and educational authorities of USA. 

The most popular top-level domains are: 
  • .COM
  • .NET
  • .ORG
  • .INFO
A second level domain identifies the subject, product, brand, company or service promoted with the domain. For example, in www.keliweb.com "keliweb" can be identified as a second level domain, representing the company that promotes its products with a domain. The second level domain identifies essentially "what the domain is about".

The third level domain (aka subdomain) identifies a specific part or section of the domain itself. For example in blog.keliweb.com  or faq.keliweb.com "blog" and "faq" represent a part of the whole domain.

You can register your own domain by clicking on our domain registration page or visit our hosting page to choose the best solution to host your website.
Have you found it useful?

share Related research